Thursday, October 2, 2008


Image:Ph locator map tayabas province
Tayabas was renamed in 1946 to Quezon in honor of Commonwealth President Manuel L. Quezon, who was born in Baler.
In 1979, the sub-province of Aurora (named after Manuel Quezon's wife, Aurora Quezon) was separated from Quezon. Among the municipalities that were comprised by the new province is Baler, and thus Manuel Quezon's birthplace is now located not in the province whose name was changed for that very reason.
The City of Tayabas, Quezon (Filipino: Lungsod ng Tayabas, Quezon) is a component city in the province of Quezon, Philippines. It was once the capital of the province. According to the 2000 census, it has a population of 70,985 people in 15,155 households. Tayabas is known for lambanog (coconut wine) and sweet food/delicacies, as well as resorts.
On March 18, 2007, Republic Act No. 9398, An Act Converting the Municipality of Tayabas in the Province of Quezon into a Component City to be known as City of Tayabas, was enacted into law. On July 14, 2007, the municipality held a plebiscite to ratify the conversion of the said act, with the residents voting in favor of the move, although there was a low turnout of voters for the plebiscite.

External links:
The Official Website of the City of Tayabas
Philippine Standard Geographic Code
2000 Philippine Census Information